Labour ‘disappointed’ at Brighton and Hove Council by-election results

The Brighton and Hove Labour Group has said it was disappointed with the outcome of the council by-elections last week.

Monday, 10th May 2021, 10:53 am
Ballot box

Candidates were fielded in both the Hollingdean and Stanmer and Patcham wards, but neither took the seats.

Green candidate Zoë John was elected for Hollingdean and Stanmer, while Conservative Anne Meadows was elected for the Patcham ward.

The by-election in Hollingdean and Stanmer had been triggered by Labour Councillor Tracey Hill stepping down in order to move away from the city to take on family caring responsibilities.

A Labour spokesman said: “Councillor Hill worked tirelessly to serve the residents of Hollingdean & Stanmer, and we are disappointed our excellent local candidate Leila Erin-Jenkins has not been given the opportunity to continue that work alongside Labour Councillor Theresa Fowler.

“It is also a shame that our brilliant local candidate Bruno De Oliveira will not be the new Councillor to represent Patcham, but we are proud of the positive campaigns we ran in both wards.”

Labour Group Leader Councillor Nancy Platts said: “I’m proud of the really positive campaigns both Leila and Bruno ran, and the hard work our volunteers put in.

“We’re disappointed Leila and Bruno won’t be joining us on the Council this week, but we look forward to 2023 when we hope to convince the residents of Hollingdean & Stanmer, Patcham, and the entire City, that Labour is the party best placed to represent them.

“In the meantime, we will continue to stand up for our residents and work in the best interests of the City on the Council.”

Results of the Hollingdean and Stanmer by-election:

Emma Louise Dawson-Bowling (Conservative Party) 745 votes

Leila Erin-Jenkins (Labour Party) 1262 votes

Nigel Furness (Independent) 24 votes

Alex Hargreaves (Liberal Democrats) 47 votes

Zoë Olivia John (Green Party) 1542 votes

Des Jones (UK Independence Party (UKIP) 35 votes

Rob Somerton-Jones (Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition) 54 votes

The turnout was 31.9 per cent out of an electorate of 11,758.

Results of the Patcham by-election:

Bruno De Oliveira (Labour Party) 879 votes

Charles Daniel Goodhand (UK Independence Party (UKIP)) 50 votes

Madelaine Joanna Primrose Hunter-Taylor (Liberal Democrats) 174 votes

Anne Christine Meadows (The Conservative Party) 2011 votes

Eliza Wyatt (Green Party) 1733 votes

The turnout was 43.8 per cent out of an electorate of 11,106.