Women’s cricket head coach given OBE in New Year’s Honours

editorial image

Mark Robinson, from Hove, the Head Coach for England Women’s Cricket team, has been given an OBE in the New Year’s Honours list.

He played for Sussex, Northants and Yorkshire before moving into coaching and taking up the position with England.

His side won the Women’s World Cup back in the summer.

Other Brighton and Hove honours include Dr Phillip Evans for services to humanitarian relief and Professor Christopher Swee Chau Liu, for services to Ophthalmology.

Full list of honours in Sussex


John David Williams, MBE. Formerly Clerk to the Lieutenancy of West Sussex.


Ms Christine Ryan. Formerly chief inspector, Independent Schools Inspectorate. For services to Education. (West Sussex)


Ms Clare Joanne Connor, OBE. Director of Women’s Cricket, England and Wales Cricket Board. For services to Cricket. (East Sussex)

Dr Phillip Andrew Evans. Head DFID Somalia, Department for International Development. For services to Humanitarian Relief. (Brighton, East Sussex)

John Frederick Nelson, DL. Formerly chairman, Lloyds of London. For services to the Global Promotion of British Business and to Diversity in the Workplace. (West Sussex)

Mrs Alison Helen Stanley. For services to the creation and leadership of civil service employee policy with a particular focus on improving and implementing workforce policies. (Lewes, East Sussex)


Professor Clive Behagg. Formerly vice-Chancellor University of Chichester. For services to Higher Education and Economic Regeneration. (East Preston, West Sussex)

Anthony Peter Delahunty. Non-Executive Board Member Marine Management Organisation. For services to the Fishing Industry. (Chichester, West Sussex)

Mrs Poppy Jaman. Chief executive Mental Health First Aid England. For services to People with Mental Health Issues. (Lewes, East Sussex)

Professor Christopher Swee Chau Liu. Consultant Ophthalmic Surgeon Sussex Eye Hospital. For services to Ophthalmology. (Hove, East Sussex)

Mrs Alwen Lyons. Formerly Company secretary. Post Office Ltd. For services to the Post Office and to Equality and Diversity. (Worthing, West Sussex)

Mark Robinson. Head Coach England Women’s Cricket Team. For services to Cricket. (Hove, East Sussex)

William Ward. Chief executive Officer and Co-founder Clipper Round the World Yacht Race. For services to the Economy and the GREAT Campaign. (Horsham, West Sussex)


Ms Philipa Ann Ailion. Casting director. For services to Theatre and Diversity in the Arts. (Pevensey Bay, East Sussex)

Mrs Barbara Bower. Foster Carer, West Sussex County Council. For services to Children and Families. (Crawley, West Sussex)

Richard Anthony Edwards. For services to the community in Hastings. (Hastings, East Sussex)

Professor Matthew Harrison. Trustee STEMNET. For services to Engineering and Education. (Ninfield, East Sussex)

Anthony Marwood. Violinist. For services to Classical Music. (East Sussex)

Dr Andrew Spiers. Director of Science and Technology, Ardingly College. For services to Education. (Hartfield, East Sussex)

Dr Joanna Margaret Walker. Consultant Paediatrician, Portsmouth Hospitals NHS Trust. For services to Children, Young People and Families in Hampshire and West Sussex. (Waterlooville, Hampshire)


Mrs Mary Sydney Grace. For services to the community in Crawley. West Sussex. (Crawley, West Sussex)

Ms Heather Mealing. For services to People with Disabilities and their Carers in Leeds and East Sussex. (Lewes, East Sussex)

Colin John Moore. For services to Music in East Sussex. (Uckfield, East Sussex)

David Thompson. For services to the community in Billingshurst. (Billingshurst, West Sussex)

Mrs Joanna Tindall. For voluntary service to the Pony Club. (Mayfield, East Sussex)


Constable Virginia Jupp. Sussex Police.